Student Affairs

Welcome to Student Affairs. Our goal is to provide you with resources across campus that help enrich both the student experience and campus life here at Grand Canyon University (GCU). Our department is home to several key offices on campus, including Residence Life, Spiritual Life, Student Engagement and Career Resources. Each of these offices plays a key role in providing you with everything you need to find academic success while enjoying the comforts of our campus community.

 

Our Mission

The Department of Student Affairs exists to serve the Grand Canyon University student population from a Christian perspective that honors God and others. Student Affairs carries out this mission through providing students relevant co-curricular activities, meaningful engagement in their surrounding community and personal preparation for their future career and life.

Lope Life

Check back here for information about upcoming events and opportunities on campus.

Resource Guide

Read through the Resource Guide for essential information on what to bring to campus, how to get involved, where to find academic support. 

Our Vision

  • We will equip student leaders to have a positive impact on the University community.
  • We will provide an atmosphere that supports respect toward others.
  • We will promote community development through personal responsibility.
  • We will foster an environment that is fun, safe, and encouraging.
  • We will prepare students to be contributing citizens in a diverse global community.

Residence Life

Loading item

The Office of Residence Life not only handles the logistics of campus housing across GCU, but is also responsible for residence hall programming and staffing. Explore our suite-style residence halls, find important dates and more.

Learn More

Spiritual Life

Loading item

At GCU, we believe having the opportunity to explore what it looks like to follow God is critical, and college is a key time when students engage in this process. The Department of Spiritual Life is here to support you by providing spiritual formation opportunities during your time on campus.

Learn More

Student Engagement

Loading item

What makes Lope Life so great? The Office of Student Engagement is here to help you find out! From planning exciting events to helping you get involved in clubs and intramurals, our office is committed to enhancing the campus experience. We also host one of the biggest events of the year, Welcome Week!

Learn More


Club Sports

Loading item

GCU's nationally recognized intercollegiate club sports teams offer a highly competitive alternative to our NCAA Division I athletic teams. Club sports athletes have access to high-quality facilities and receive coaching from top-level teams.

Learn More

Dining on Campus

Loading item

Hungry? Need to grab a quick snack in between classes? GCU offers multiple dining options across campus, including popular eateries at Lopes Way, the Student Union and Thunder Alley.

Learn More


Academic Resources

Be sure to stay up to date with GCU’s academic policies, requirements and regulations, along with the academic calendar so you can be informed of important dates throughout the school year. 

Learn More

Loading item

 

Parent Resources

Parents play a vital role in our campus community! Check out our parent resources for information about getting involved at GCU, connecting with your student, helping your student transition to campus and more.

Learn More

Loading item

 


Important Dates

Our calendar helps you plan ahead for important deadlines for the upcoming school year. Make sure to mark these in your calendar.

Dates and information are subject to change

2020 DATES DESCRIPTION
Saturday, Jan. 4 (8 - 10 am) New Students Move-In
Saturday, Jan. 4 (starting at 11 am) -
Sunday, Jan. 5
Continuing Students Return to Campus
Monday, Jan. 6 Spring Classes Begin
Monday, Jan. 6 at 5 pm "No Show" Students Housing Reservations Dropped
Friday Feb. 28 Step 1 of Returning Housing Selection Deadline
Monday, March 9 at 10am Summer 2020 Housing Application Opens
Saturday, March 14 - Sunday, March 22 Spring Break (Students can stay on-campus)
Friday, April 10 Summer 2020 Deadline to Cancel Summer Housing Reservations without Termination of Housing Contract Fee
Friday, April 10 Deadline to Apply for Summer 2020 Housing
Wednesday, April 22 Spring Classes End
Thursday, April 23 Summer 2020 Deadline to cancel Summer Housing Reservations without Termination of Housing Contract Fee
Thursday, April 23 by 3 pm Living Area Closure for ALL students - Students may NOT stay on campus
Friday, May 4 Summer Classes Begin
Monday, May 4 - Friday, May 8 and Monday, May 11 Summer 2020 Residents: Summer Housing Check-In by appointment only
Friday, May 8 before 5 pm Summer 2020 Housing Reservation Cancellations will be charged $200 Termination of Housing Contract Fee
Friday, May 8 after 5 pm Any Summer 2020 Housing reservation cancellations owe full Summer 2020 rent
Monday, May 11 by noon Summer 2020 Residents: Spring Housing Check-Out
Monday, May 11 Step 2 of Returning Housing Selection Deadline
Monday, June 1 by noon Step 3 of Returning Housing Selection Deadline
Wednesday, July 1

Academic Year 2020-21 Room Switch and Reservation Change Deadline

Thursday, July 2 - Monday, Aug. 24 at 5 pm Deadline to Cancel Academic Year 2020-21 Housing Contract with $400 Termination of Housing Contract Fee
Friday, July 24 from 9 am to noon Summer 2020 Residents: Check-In to Fall 2020 Housing
Monday, July 27 by noon Summer 2020 Residents: Check-Out of Summer 2020 Housing
Saturday, Aug. 1 Deadline to Cancel Academic Year 2020-21 Housing Contract with no Termination of Housing Contract Fee
Sunday, Aug. 16 Summer Classes End
Monday, Aug. 17 - Friday, Aug. 21 Fall 2020: Welcome Week (move-in dates specific to buildings)
Monday, Aug. 24 Fall Classes Begin
Monday, Aug. 24 at 5 pm "No Show" Student Housing Reservations Dropped
Monday, Aug. 24 after 5 pm Academic Year 2020-21 Housing Withdrawal Deadline (Students responsible for fall rent after this date)
Tuesday, Sept. 8 Phase 1 of the Spring Only Housing Application opens
Sunday, Nov.1 December Graduates: Spring Housing Withdrawal Deadline
Sunday, Nov.1 Resident New to Spring 2021: Deadline to Cancel Spring Only Housing Contract Without Termination of Contract Fee (not applicable to residents with an Academic Year Calendar)
Wednesday, Nov. 18 Phase 2 Spring Only Housing Selection
Monday, Nov. 23 - Sunday, Nov. 29 Thanksgiving Break (Students can stay on campus)
Tuesday, Dec. 1 Residents New to Spring 2021: Room Reservation Switch Deadline: (not applicable to residents with an Academic Year Contract)
Tuesday, Dec. 1

Non-Local Program: Spring Housing Withdrawal Deadline 

Thursday, Dec. 3

Residents New to Spring 2021: Deadline to Cancel Spring Only Housing Contract with $200 Termination of Contract Fee (not applicable to residents with an Academic Year Contract)

Friday, Dec. 4 - Monday, Jan. 4 Residents New to Spring 2021: Deadline to Cancel Spring Only Housing Contract with $400 Termination of Contract Fee (not applicable to residents with an Academic Year Contract)
Wednesday, Dec. 9 Face-to-Face Instruction Ends
Thursday, Dec. 10 by 3 pm Christmas Break Living Area Closure for ALL students EXCEPT COMMENCEMENT PARTICIPANTS
Saturday, Dec. 12 by 3 pm Christmas Break Living Area Closure for COMMENCEMENT PARTICIPANTS
Thursday, Dec. 10 - Sunday, Jan. 3 Christmas Break

Dates and information are subject to change.

2021 DATES DESCRIPTION
Saturday, Jan. 2 (8 - 10 am) New Students Move-In
Saturday, Jan. 2 (starting at 11 am) -
Sunday, Jan. 3
Continuing Students Return to Campus
Monday, Jan. 4 Spring Classes Begin
Monday, Jan. 4 at 5 pm "No Show" Students Housing Reservations Dropped
Wednesday, Feb. 10 – Friday, Feb. 26 Step 1 of Housing Selection: Submit a housing pre-payment
Wednesday, March 3 – Friday, March 19 Step 2 of Housing Selection: Roommate Groups
Saturday, March 13 - Sunday, March 21 Spring Break (Students can stay on-campus)
Wednesday, March 24 – Friday, April 16 Step 3 of Housing Selection: Select bed, meal plan, and sign housing contract during assigned timeslot
Thursday, April 15 Step 3 of Housing Selection: Late applicants select a bed, meal plan and sign housing contract (anyone who did not complete Step 1 before the February 26 deadline)

Dates and information are subject to change.

Scroll back to top